

Sponsored by Department of Science & Technology Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, New Delhi Training Programme on **Building Local Resilience in a Changing Climate** (for Women Scientists & Technologists Working in the Government Sector) (25th February– 01st March, 2024) **Session Plan**



Organised by Centre for Disaster Management Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration, Mussoorie, Uttarakhand

Time (hrs.)	Sunday	Monday	Tuesday	Wednesday	Thursday	Friday
	25-02-2024	26-02-2024	27-02-2024	28-02-2024	29-02-2024	01-03-2024
09:30 to 10:30	Registration (10:00 to 10:30)	Setting the Context of Climate Change- Role of Scientists in contributing to India's Action Plan on Climate Change (Debapriya Dutta)	Role of Energy Efficiency, Technology, Behaviour and Built Habitat in Sustainable Growth, Consumption and Energy Transition (Bhaskar Natarajan)	Understanding the impacts of climate change on key economic sectors - Approaches to Build Climate-resilient Communities (RR Rashmi)	Vulnerability Atlas of India: A Tool to Natural Disaster Prevention and Mitigation for Housing and related Infrastructure (Shailesh Kumar Agrawal)	Climate Smart Agriculture for Development Planning and Action: Technologies, Programs and Policies (Ch. Srinivasa Rao)
10:45 to 11:45	1.5 km trek from Seegreen hotel to George Everest) (10:30 to 11:30)	Future of Renewable Energy in India: Role of Scientific Institutions in the Net Zero Era (Upendra Tripath i)	Field level Interventions for Drought Mitigation (Crispino Lobo)	Role of Technology in managing and assessing climate Risks (Milind Mujumdar)	Building India's Climate Resilience through Community Action (Vishwas Chitale)	India's Action Plan on Climate Change: Need for greater alignment with India's National Biodiversity Action Plan and National Mission on Biodiversity & Human Well- being (V. B. Mathur)
11:45 to 12:15	Tea/ Coffee Break					
12:15 to 13:15	Visit to Cartography Museum at George Everest Heritage Park (11:30 to 13:00)	Fire Safety mock drill (Fire Station, Mussoorie)	India's Road to Resiliency: Why climate proofing India's road network is vital to secure sustainable development (Vijetha Bezzam)	Innovative and Local Solutions to solve problems of Mountain Communities in the context of Climate Change (Anil Prakash Joshi)	Transfer of Technologies from Lab to Land and Knowledge sharing for Efficient Governance of Climate Risks (Arvind C Ranade)	Building local resilience for disaster safety (R. Pradeep Kumar)
13:15 to 14:15	Lunch Break					
14:15 to 15:15	Visit to Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration (15:00 to 16:00)	Inaugural Session	Clean up the River Ganges by recycling flowers (Ankit Agarwal)	Traditional & Indigenous Practices for Climate Resilience in India (Ishleen Kaur)	Presentation of assignments by participants	Valedictory Programme (13:30 to 14:00) (Ms. A. Dhanalakshmi Joint Secretary, DST)
15:30 to 16:30		Space based technologies to mitigate the impacts of climate change induced disasters (Arijit Roy)	Building Climate-Smart Villages- Five approaches for helping farmers adapt to climate change (Mangi Lal Jat)	Mission LIFE- Lifestyle for Environment (Yugal Joshi) (Online)	Presentation of assignments by participants	
16:30	Tea/ Coffee Break					

Details of Guest Speakers

- Dr. Debapriya Dutta, Former Scientist-G & Adviser & Head, Mission Societal-Science for Equity Empowerment and Development (SEED) & Nano Mission-National Supercomputing Mission (NM-NSM) & State Science & Technology Programme (SSTP), Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Kunda Badhe)
- Shri Upendra Tripathy, IAS (retd.), Former Secretary, MNRE & Former Director General, International Solar Alliance, Honorary Principal Advisor (Education) to HCM, Government of Odisha, Bhubaneswar (Moderator: Ms. Smriti Sachdev)
- Dr. Arijit Roy, Scientist SG & Head, Disaster Management Sciences Department (DMSD), Indian Institute of Remote Sensing (IIRS), Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO), Department of Space, Government of India, Dehradun (Moderator: Dr. Neetu)
- Dr. Bhaskar Natarajan, Senior Fellow, Alliance for an Energy Efficient Economy, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. G.S. Uma)
- Mr. Crispino Lobo, Co-Founder & Managing Trustee, Watershed Organisation Trust (WOTR), Pune (Moderator: Dr. Anna Salomi Kerketta)
- Ms. Vijetha Bezzam, Transport Specialist, The World Bank, 70, Lodi Estate, New Delhi (Moderator: Ms. Ragini Sarmah)
- Mr. Ankit Agarwal, Founder & CEO, Kanpur Flowercycling Private Limited (KFPL), Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh (Moderator: Ms. Bharati Patel)
- Dr. Mangi Lal Jat, Global Research Program Director Resilient Farm & Food Systems, International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT), ICRISAT, Hyderabad (Moderator: Dr. Renu Munjal)
- Shri R R Rashmi, IAS (retd.), Distinguished Fellow and Programme Director, Earth Science and Climate Change, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI), New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Noor Afshan Khan)
- Dr. Milind Mujumdar, Senior Scientist and Former Senior Manager, Centre for Climate Change Research (CCCR), Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, An Autonomous Institute of the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India, Pune (Moderator: Dr. Lata Vishnoi)
- Dr. Anil Prakash Joshi, Founder, Himalayan Environmental Studies and Conservation Organization (HESCO), HESCO Gaon, Shuklapur village, P.O. Ambiwala Via-Prem Nagar, Dehradun District (Moderator: Dr. Vandita Srivastava)
- Ms. Ishleen Kaur, Senior Environment Specialist National Institute of Urban Affairs Head, Climate Centre for Cities, National Institute of Urban Affairs (NIUA), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA), New Delhi (Moderator: Ms. Rachana Phulera)
- Dr. Yugal Joshi, Mission Director, LiFE, NITI Aayog, Government of India, Sansad Marg, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Sivaranjani S)
- Dr. Shailesh Kumar Agrawal, Executive Director, Building Materials and Technology Promotion Council (BMTPC), Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Veena Chaudhary)
- Dr. Vishwas Chitale, Senior Programme Lead, Climate Resilience, Council on Energy, Environment and Water (CEEW), ISID Campus, New Delhi (Moderator: Dr. Swaran Lata)
- Dr. V. B. Mathur, IFS (retd.), Former Chairperson, National Biodiversity Authority, Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MOEF&CC), Government of India, Dehradun (Moderator: Dr. Nidhi Rajput)
- Dr. Ch. Srinivasa Rao, Director, ICAR-National Academy of Agricultural Research Management, Hyderabad (Moderator: Dr. Ruby Patel)
- Dr. Arvind C Ranade, Director, National Innovation Foundation (NIF) India, Department of Science & Technology (DST), Government of India, Gandhinagar (Moderator: Ms. Bindu Manghat)
- Prof. R. Pradeep Kumar, Director, CSIR- Central Building Research Institute (CBRI), Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of India. Roorkee (Moderator: Dr. C. Bharathi Priya)